city governance

Cave City is governed through a Mayor - Council form of government. The City Council sets city policy by passing ordinances and resolutions, and sets the annual city budget after being proposed by the Mayor.  


Jonas Anderson joined the City Council in 2010, and was first sworn into office as Mayor on July 25th, 2017. He is a life-long resident of Cave City, whose family has lived in the area since the 1860's.  From the beginning of his public service, he has focused on making Cave City the best version of itself that it can be; a proactive, forward-thinking community that honors its past while marching ahead toward a brighter future.  

Jonas Anderson, Mayor

Jonas Anderson, Mayor

City Council

Our City Council is comprised of eight members, with two each representing one of four different wards in the city. Members are elected at-large, serve two-year terms, and take pride in helping to move Cave City forward. Regular meetings of the City Council are held on the fourth Tuesday of each month at City Hall unless otherwise announced, and the public is always invited to attend.

Current Council Members:

  • Mr. John Ables

  • Mr. Dale King

  • Mr. Richard Hawkins II

  • Mr. Kenneth Wilson

  • Mr. Ed Turnbough

  • Mr. Eddie Johnson

  • Mrs. Hana Smith

  • Mrs. Melanie Cheshier

City Recorder

Mrs. Tammy Smith